Voices Carry

Standard

I remember when I was a teenager all I wanted to do was buck the system. I wanted to have things my way and do things my own way. The desire for any sense of freedom fueled me to voice an opinion that wasn’t inquired.

As the 1st day approached, I decided I wanted to give my students the opportunity to have a voice within our classroom. When asked what they felt should be our classroom expectations here’s what they came up with.

IMG_2221-0.JPG

IMG_2222-0.JPG

4 thoughts on “Voices Carry

    • What I didn’t include on the charts were their expectations of me. Some of their expectations were, having centers, projects, hands on, games and free time. It’s good to know I can give the people what they want :-).

  1. I noticed a common theme in all of the charts. Your students are expecting respect from everyone in the class. What a great and powerful voice to carry you all through your work this year and beyond! I can’t wait to see what you all accomplish this year.

  2. What’s interesting is that their self-imposed consequences are such old-school punishments! It might be interesting to what they think about logical or natural consequences vs punishment. https://www.responsiveclassroom.org/article/punishment-vs-logical-consequences
    http://www.weareteachers.com/blogs/post/2012/10/22/logical-consequences-in-the-classroom
    I love your blog! Addictive. Like a good book, I can’t wait to see what will happen next.
    Hugs to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

